Why Buhari retired 17 permanent secretaries

VICE-PRESIDENT-ELECT-2B-702x336There was a shake up in the federal civil service yesterday as President Muhammadu Buhari retired 17 permanent secretaries, appointed 18 new ones and redeployed 36 top officials.

The president met with the former permanent secretaries at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, where they were informed of their retirement.

Acting Head of Service of the Federation, Mrs. Winifred Ekanem Oyo-Ita, led them to the closed-door meeting.

The exercise is coming barely 24 hours before the inauguration of ministers expected to hold during Buhari’s first Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.

Although, no reason was given for their retirement, Daily Sun investigations revealed that the permanent secretaries were allegedly relieved of their posts on account of alleged fraud, which could compromise the Buhari administration’s stance on corruption and make nonsense of the government’s Change Mantra if they were retained.

A source said one of the former permanent secretaries had more than N1 billion in his bank account, while another, it was claimed had N200 million in one ac- count.

Some of them were also accused of ownership of housing estates in Abuja and elsewhere.

It was further gathered that Ita was picked from among their ranks as acting Head of Service because she was believed to be ‘clean’ among her peers.

Meanwhile, the sack of the federal permanent secretaries came as a shock to many Nigerians even though it is not the first time a gale of sack by a sitting president would spread across the federal civil ser- vice.

In 1976, the military ad- ministration of General Olusegun Obasanjo sacked notable permanent secretaries.

This exercise was also repeated in 1983 immediately after General Buhari over threw the administration of President Shehu Shagari as a result of pervading large- scale corruption, among other things in the countty.

President Buhari had on assumption of office in May this year, deployed the top civil servants maximally for state assignments, assuring them that they are the engine room of their ministries.

While many of them addressed newsmen on behalf of their ministries, a development that hitherto never happened, scores of them also accompanied the president on foreign trips.

Reacting to the development, Secretary General, Senior Staff Association of University Teaching Hospital Research Institute and Allied Institutions, Moshood Akinpelu, said Buhari’s action was in the interest of the country.

His words: “That is the policy of his administration, because he had told Nigerians that he would restruc- ture the civil service, and he is keeping to that promise.

“I will not be surprised if more permanent secretaries will go because many of them have really overstayed in the service. It is in Nigeria that you see a director retiring as a result of old age, while his permanent secretary still remain in office. So, what Buhari has done was in order and in the interest of Nigeria.

Activist and President of the Nigeria Voters Assembly, Moshood Erubami, in a telephone interview said: “The sack is a welcome development because it provides a new ground for new permanent secretaries that will assist incoming ministers.

“It is a deft political move to create new positions for those who have been wait- ing to be uplifted without hope towards sanitising the civil service and allow the new ministers to, benefit from fresh ideas the new permanent secretaries will offer.

He adds: “If the real change that Nigerians yearn for must be achieved, I think Nigeria needs the technocrats to pilot the affairs of federal agencies which are critical to the economic growth and survival.”

The 18 permanent Secretaries apointed which is with immediate effect are, ? Mrs. Ayotunde Adesugba,? Mahmoud Isa-Dutse,? Mr. Taiwo Abidogun,? Dr. Bukar Hassan, ? Mrs. Wakama Belema Asifieka,? Mr. Jalal Ahmad Arabi,? Mr. Sabiu Zakari,? Mrs. Obiageli Phyllis Nwokedi and M?r. Aminu Nabegu.

Others are Mr. Bamgbose Olukunle Oladele, M?r. Alo Williams Nwankwo, D?r. Shehu Ahmed,? Mr. Ogbonnaya Innocent Kalu,? Mrs. Nuratu Jimoh Batagarawa, M?r. Christian Chinyeaka Ohaa, M?r. Bassey Apkanyung,? Mr. Louis Edozien and Dr. Ugo Roy.

The 36 p?ermanent secretaries deployed are, D? r. Shehu Ahmad to Ministry of Agriculture and? Rural Development, Sunday Echono, deployed to? C? ommunications, Sabiu Zakari? deployed to? Transportation, Mrs. Ayotunde Adesugba deployed to? Information and Culture, Danjuma Sheni d?eployed to? Defence, Dr. Shade Yemi-Esan d?eployed to E? ducation, Mrs. Fatima Mede? deployed to? B? ud- get and National Planning, ? Alh. Mahmoud Isa Dutse, deployed to F? inance, Amb. Bulus Lolo d?eployed to Foreign Affairs and? Dr. Amina Shamaki d?eployed to? Health.
Others a? re Mr. Aliyu

Bisalla deployed to? Industry, Trade and Investment, Mr. Bassey Akpanyung deployed to? Internal Affairs, Mr. Taiwo Abidogun? deployed to J?ustice Ministry, Dr. Habiba Lawal d?eployed to Science and Tech., Dr. Clement Illoh deployed to Labour and Productivity, Dr. Jamila Shu’ara deployed to? Petroleum Resources, Mrs. Binta Bello deployed to Women Affairs, Dr. Babatope Ajakaiye deployed to Federal Capital Territory, M? rs. Rabi Jimeta deployed to? Water Resources and Dr. Bukar Hassan deployed to E? nvironment.

Others are M? rs. Wakama B. Asifieka deployed to? Niger Delta Affairs, Istifanus Fuktur deployed to Solid Minerals, Mr. Christian Ohaa deployed to? Youth and Sports, A? .G. Magaji d? eployed to Works and Housing, Mr. Louis Edozien deployed to? Power, Mr. Jalal Arabi d? eployed to? S?tate House and M?r. Mohammed Bukar deployed to? General Services Office, Office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation (OSGF).

Others are M? r. Abbas Mohammed d? eployed to? Ecological Fund Office, OSGF,Dr.Ugo Roy d?eployed to Council Secretariat, M?r. Aminu Nabegu deployed to ?S?pecial Services Office, OSGF, B?amgbose Akindele d? eployed to Political Affairs Office, OSGF, Mr. Alo Williams Nwankwo d? eployed to? Economic Affairs Office, OSGF, M? rs. Obiageli Nwokedi deployed to? S?pecial Duties Office, OSGF, M?r. Innocent Ogbonnaya d?eployed to? Career Management Office, OHCSF, M? r. S.K.Y. Adelakun d?eployed to? Common Services Office, OHCSF, and Mrs. N. Batagarawa deployed to? Service Policy and Strategies Office, OHCSF. -The Sun

Show More

Our Reporter

An accomplished online marketer, with a proven ability to develop and implement Social media strategies that support a wide array of businesses.

Related Articles