President Buhari appoints new INEC chairman

buhari1w-579x336President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Professor Mahmud Yakubu as new chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The appointment was confirmed at the emergency Council of State meeting held today by the president.
Sokoko State Governor Aminu Tambuwal, who briefed State House correspondents after the meeting, said the appointment of the new INEC boss was in line with relevant provisions of the 1999 Constitution and in consultation with the Council of State.

He said the Acting chairman of the Commission, Amina zakari, is now the INEC Commissioner representing the North-West.

The new positions and ratification by the council of state are as follows:

Professor Mahmood Yakubu (Bauchi) as chairman

The following were also appointed as INEC commissioners:

•Mrs Amina Zakari (Jigawa)–North-West

•Dr Antonla Taiye Okoosi (Kogi)–North-central

•Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (Borno)–North-east

•Dr Mohammed Mustafa (Edo)–South-south

•Mr Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (Ogun)—South-west

Meanwhile, the Council of State resolved that Ambassador Lawrence Nwuruku who is currently representing the South-east should remain. -Nigerianeye

Show More

Our Reporter

An accomplished online marketer, with a proven ability to develop and implement Social media strategies that support a wide array of businesses.

Related Articles