INEC: Yakubu, 5 others confirmed by senate

inec-logo-300x168-702x336One week after President Muhammadu Buhari forwarded the names of the chairman and five commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the Senate yesterday confirmed their nominations.
Confirmed are Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, Chairman, and the five commissioners. They are, Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo, Dr. Antonia Taiye Okoosi Simbine, Mrs Amina Zakari, Dr. Mohammed Mustapha Lecky and Mr. Soyebi Adedeji Solomon.
Their confirmations were equally sequel to a motion moved by Senate Leader Ali Ndume.
Prior to their confirmations, they were grilled by Senators on how they would perform their roles. They were also asked questions on how they would improve on the template set by the former chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega.
They promised to ensure that INEC remains neutral. They also said they would review certain anomalies in the commission as part of the reforms they will institute when they assume office.

Show More

Our Reporter

An accomplished online marketer, with a proven ability to develop and implement Social media strategies that support a wide array of businesses.

Related Articles