AFCON 2017: Mikel Obi, Moses, Ighalo missing from Sunday Oliseh’s 18-man Army

john-mikel-obi-300x159The chief coach of Nigeria’s senior national male team, the Super Eagles, Sunday Oliseh, has released the list of 18 players to face Tanzania’s Taifa Stars in an African Nations’ Cup qualifier in Dar Es Salaam next month, with Chelsea duo Mikel Obi and Victor Moses being the most notable exclusions.

It is believed that the exclusion of the duo must be tied to the coach’s stance on first-team football and their inability to tie down a first-team place since the 2015/2016 English Premiere League season began.

Evidently, some of the ‘old brigade’ were re-called, but the heat on first-choice goal-keeper Vincent Enyeama may have cranked up, with the invitation of Wolverhampton Wanderers of England’s goalie, Carl Ikeme.

Interestingly, Al Ain striker Emmanuel Emenike earned a recall after his performance for his side over the weekend earned it the Emirates super Cup.

Also, there are a number of surprises – in the form of Ikeme, Izunna Uzochukwu, Emem Eduok, Sylvester Igboun and Moses Simon – in line with Oliseh’s earlier pledge to make current form and first-team football key indices for selection.

All the 18 players, who will join up with the 23 home boys who arrived at the camp in Abuja yesterday, are expected in Abuja on Monday, August 31, 2015.


We Must Support Him – Onigbinde, Chukwu

Meanwhile, former of coaches of the team, Chief Adegboye Onigbinde and Christian Chukwu have uniformly called for the support for the coach as he seeks to prosecute his first game since his appointment.

“Oliseh knows what pattern, system and tactics he wants to play; he knows what he sees in the players and he knows what he wants from them. We can only wish him luck and we wish all Nigerians can do the same, as well. That is the only way the team can progress,” both men said to LEADERSHIP Sports at different times, in their reaction to the list.

Goalkeepers Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France), Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England)

Defenders Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany), Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia), Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), William Troost Ekong (FK Haugesund, Norway), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa SK, Turkey)

Midfielders Joel Obi (Torina FC, Italy), Izunna Ernest Uzochukwu (FC Amkar Perm, Russia), Obiora Nwankwo (Coimbra FC, Portugal), Lukman Haruna (Anzhi Makachkala, Russia), Rabiu Ibrahim (AS Trencin, Slovakia)

Forwards Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Emem Eduok (Esperance ST, Tunisia), Emmanuel Emenike (Al Ain, UAE), Anthony Ujah (Werder Bremen, Germany), Sylvester Igboun (FC UFA, Russia), Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium)


Show More

Our Reporter

An accomplished online marketer, with a proven ability to develop and implement Social media strategies that support a wide array of businesses.

Related Articles